Clear all

Beginner on bass - left hand fingers

9 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
 mix
(@mix)
Topic starter  

Hi, I'm an an absolute beginner and have been told to keep left hand fingers curled in position over the frets. I'm finding this difficult with the 1st and 2nd fingers, which tend to involuntary straighten out in a bit of a spastic fashion when practising scales. Should I be concerned about this or will it naturally sorted itself out with practise. Will appreciate any helpful comments.

(@andrewlubinus89)
Estimable Member

just keep practicing but try to stay relaxed. You probably have a lot of tension in your left hand.

Jamie Andreas has some excellent articles on this which was very helpful to me as a beginner.

This one in particular but all of them are good.

https://www.guitarnoise.com/author/jamieandreas/

Ps, it's nice to see some more bass players around GN, welcome.

A hoopy frood knows where his towel is....

ReplyQuote
 mix
(@mix)
Topic starter  

Thanx for the tip. I printed the article out and am trying to follow the advice. I think this and practice is easing the situation already.

Now, I feel that the best thing would be to have a teacher, but unfortunatelly there aren't any around here. I was considering to buy a beginners course
and have checked Amazon.com and similar sites and found a few, but do not know which one would be the best for me, :) an enthusiastic new female bass player.
:D
Can anyone out there make any strong recommendations?

ReplyQuote
(@danlasley)
Noble Member

If you would add your location to your profile (the one at the top of the page), then perhaps one of us may know someone in your neighborhood.

I'm sure someone will post some books that they liked. I learned the bass before the printing press was invented. 8)

Is the bass your first instrument?

Welcome to GN!

Laz

ReplyQuote
 mix
(@mix)
Topic starter  

Sorry, I should complete the information in my profile (even with GPS coordinates :D ).

Now, there is a challenge.