20 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
14.3 K Views
(@niklas)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hi,

I'm hoping I can get some helpful hints here. I just got a call this morning that confirmes I'll have a summerjob this summer when I'm having my summer vacation from Uni. I've been saving money in case I wouldn't get a job and now I feel an urge to spend it on musical equipment.

So I'm thinking of buying a bass guitar. Why? Because way too often I find myself in a situation with two guitar players and one drummer and I'm usually the only one with any sense of rythm. What happens is that everyone follows the lead guitar and well, it's not a very good solution. I've been playing guitar since 2005 so it's time to widen my repertoire anyway.

Now, what to buy? I've done a lot of research the two last couple of days and narrowed it down to one model:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/epiphone-thunderbird-pro-iv-bass#review

The Thunderbird is actually the only body shape I like on bass guitars so this makes me very biased. But it's not only the body shape I thought looked good in this model but actually the specifications are the best I can find in this price range ~350$.

What I like about it is the Mahogany body and through-neck design together with the active humbucking pickups. I want to use it to play heavy rock and blues music and I want a lot of sustain. I'll probably try a couple of models tomorrow so what I want help with is what are bass guitars have similiar specifications in the same price range? I have quite big hands with long fingers if that knowledge may be of use.

I'm not interested in bolt-on necks (hated it on my first electrical guitar) or 50/60 Hertz humming electronics.
I'm not looking for a beginner bass that I'll get tired of but something that'll I want to play and works to play live, but the guitar is still my main instrument and if I would spend a lot of money I'd rather buy a guitar.