Notifications
Clear all

playing bass with a pick help

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@d-rock)
Topic starter  

hi, im somewhat new to playing the bass ..... ive been learning mainly punk rock songs like green day, blink 182, and the ramones

anyways, i use a pick to play and im finding it hard to hit the strings consistenly while strumming (sometimes i miss the string on the upstroke, or i dont fully hit it ..... and it just doesnt sound right)

i read ealier on this board that for this style of music (punk), i should always downstroke ... but that was for guitar (not bass) .... and ive seen bands play live, and ive noticed bass players strumming up and down ... which is best, downstrokes only or 'up and down'?

i hear that im only suposed to use the first few millimeters of the pick, is this true? would this help? what thickness of pick would be best?

i also see bass players that strum near the bridge ..... but i also see some playing up above the pickups (almost at the neck)

ive experimented with all of this and im still finding it difficult .... perhaps i need some practice .... does anyone know of any excerises that might help?

(@g-bass)
Trusted Member

It all depends on whether you're planning on moving away from punk or not. Don't get me wrong, it's your choice, but for me my skills didn't start improving until i ditched the pick and learned some harder/more complicated stuff; think about that. Anyways, for now stick near the bridge area (not super close mind you, as the strings will be too taught for a pick) and I guess keep doing your downstrokes.
Hope that helped.

G-Bass
Play bass, it just plain rules!

ReplyQuote
(@paul-donnelly)
Noble Member

Putting you bass higher will help, if you have it low. It has to be high enough that your picking motion can come from the elbow. You want to pick by swinging your forearm up and down, not by moving your wrist or your upper arm.