Clear all

Short Scale Basses

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@arden)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing guitar for about 2 years now, and I'm attempting to take up the bass so that I can add some depth to our sound when I play with my guitarist buddies. I've played my brothers P-style bass before, but it just seems too big and bulky for my hand size. One of my friends has a Squire Bronco Bass, which I tried and it seemed much more natural feeling. So, I'm just wondering, before I go out and buy one, are there any drawbacks to short-scale basses? Also, what are good brands to buy?

(@kc13088)
Trusted Member

I don't know much about which brands make short-scales, but I would assume that short-scale basses have basically the same advantages and disadvantages of shorter scale and mini-guitars: smoother, less twangy tone, shorter reaches, less room on the higher frets (not much of a problem on bass though), less string tension and thus floppy strings when drop-tuning, and more tendency for string buzz. I think the string tension thing could be fixed just by using heavier strings, so unless you notice any other problems when testing out a short scale bass it sounds like a good idea to me.

ReplyQuote
(@danlasley)
Noble Member

I played a Gibson short-scale with a body that looked like an SG. It was very light and sounded fine, but I kept over-reaching when I wasn't looking.

No reason not to get one if it works for you.

-Laz

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member

uke415: Good suggestions here.

I started out on a Sears Silvertone Beatle bass, which was short scale, then had my eyes set on a Fender Precision. This was back in the 70s somewhere. I didn't get the P-bass, but I did manage to find an Ampeg Lucy Lucite, which was also short scale. I didn't particularly want or need a short scale, it's just the way things worked out for me.