Clear all

3 Months Playing

21 Posts
15 Users
0 Likes
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Well I've been playing for 3 months. It's hard for me to think of what I've learned because rarely do I set out to learn a skill. Usually I dodge around it aphazardly and then somehow land on it by complete accident. But I'll try my best.

-Power chords. I can play most of them cleanly now.

-Hammer-ons and bends. (Still working on pull offs)

-How to play in time.

-Open chords C, G, Em, D and open chords C#, D#, F#, G# and G/D#

-How to read standard notation. I still can read it fast enough to play songs from it though.

-How to play by ear.

-How to sing and play at the same time.

That's all I can think of. As I said before, I don't set out to learn a skill. A lot of times, I figure it out by accident and don't even realize it.

I'm up to 4 songs:
Creed-Bullets
Nirvana-Smells Like Teen Spirit
Kittie-What I Always Wanted
Seether-Remedy

I'm working on two more songs but they are taking longer because they contain barre chords.

I'm not sure if I'm where I should be at this stage. Or even if there is a place I should be three months in. But it doesn't hurt to check up on your progress. Actually, until I wrote this post, I had never bothered to stop and think what I know. In my opinion, I don't have the same skill set as most people at my stage but I have learned a lot in the last three months. However, does anyone have any feedback or thoughts?

(@evolution)
Estimable Member

Learning to sing and play at the same times after 3 months is a pretty big accomplishment. Also I guess reading standard music notation is an accomplishment since most of the other guitarist I see don't have a clue how to read music. So I say fairing really good for only 3 months of playing.

ReplyQuote
(@gadlaw)
Reputable Member