Notifications
Clear all

Seeking the path

11 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@juggernaut)
Topic starter  

So I love the guitar and I'd love to be able to play it. I like almost all types of guitar – from Spanish (dunno what the official name is), Jazz, Blues, Rock, ect.. Basically I want to pick up playing the guitar and I want to build a strong foundation so I can take any number of routes I want to. I did quite a bit of searching on the internet for free lessons and I was so overwhelmed by money gimmicks that I gave up. Do yall know of a good source that I could teach myself guitar? Is there any particular book I should buy? I'm a poor college student in love with music and I just need a little direction, for I am lost in a sea of unknown. I want to teach myself but I don't want to spend a fortune. I already have a guitar, but it is an old junior size one. I think I'll need a new guitar too.

Thanks in advance for your time,
Chris

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

Hello Chris,
Welcome to Guitar Noise.
You have come to the right place my friend.
Start here:
https://www.guitarnoise.com/lessons/absolute-beginner-part-1/
Come back and ask any question you may have.
When you can snatch the pebble from my hand then you will be ready :lol:

ReplyQuote
 Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

You are already here.

There is nothing like the benefit of having a teacher and gaining the face to face feedback but a number of guitarists have learned without.

Since you are already here, I suggest you start here. Have you checked out the beginners lessons on the main page? If not click on the guitarnoise logo at the top and start with those lessons.

Also, do a forum search of the "Beginners Q&A" forum for books and you will find a lot of info on recommended books.

Oh and welcome to GN.

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff
DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

This is Esteban with some great news!

Welcome to GN!

#4491....

ReplyQuote
 Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member