Clear all

a chord

17 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@crash1117)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I'm fairly new to the guitar, and having lots of problems with the a chord. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

(@jonetoe)
Reputable Member

I kinda take the easy way and barre it with my middle finger, but I notice I have to get quicker to be able get to the next chord. Sometimes you can subtitute A7 for A, or just keep practicing the standard way

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

crash,

I had trouble with it when I first started and I avoided it and used my index finger to barre and didn't play the high e.

It wasn't until I was playing for a year or so before I really started practicing it using three fingers.

Anyway it doesn't give me a problem anymore so the only advice I can give you is to practice it slowly for a few minutes everyday and you'll get it.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
 300m
(@300m)
Reputable Member

Try this, from David Hodge articel on cords. https://www.guitarnoise.com/article.php?id=78
Personally, I find this very uncomfortable. By some happy accident, I learned the A chord after the E chord. At the time, I was trying like crazy to make as few changes with my fingers on the fretboard as possible and I managed to come up with this:
STRING: 1st (high E) 2nd (B) 3rd (G) 4th (D) 5th (A) 6th (low E)
FINGER: open ring index middle open open

John M

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

I don't fret the A chord in a standard way myself.
My fingertips are a bit wide and I found that I can play an A chord cleanly with 2 fingers instead of three. I can still spread these 2 fingers apart slightly and get a clean A7.
I know my technic is wrong but it works for me.

ReplyQuote
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member