A second guitar, buying advice

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
 T-72
(@t-72)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Well I started playing 2 months ago, and bought a (mexican) Stratocaster. I generally like it, it plays a lot nicer than the other guitars I have used that friends have. But, even though I haven't started long ago I know I will keep with it so really I'd like to invest in a guitar closer to the top of the range. Whilst cost is always at least some kind of issue, I don't mind spending the money on nice things, so I am prepared to go fairly high here.

I should also say that I have not definitely decided to get a new one, and at the moment am just looking for advice. So any suggestions are appreciated.

PS I know 0 about guitars, bear that in mind with any answers. :P

Cheers

(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

Wait till you've been playing longer. You'll decide what you like.

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
 T-72
(@t-72)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

You'll decide what you like.

Would you say its more to do with personal preference than anything then?

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member

Yes, maybe wait a little longer. But in that time try out other guitars. You said you've played guitars your friends have. What did you like about your Strat that you didn't like about theirs? I they were Strats - or Strat-type guitars - but not a easy to play or good sounding as yours, then maybe you should try some 'Gibson' type guitars if you can. Something like a Les Paul or an SG. You might like that type of guitar better than a Strat. Those are the two main types - the Fender (and copies), and the Gibson (and copies). You should investigate both types before thinking of upgrading to something new.