Clear all

Acoustic/Electric or Acoustic Steel String from a Nylon

9 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@redpoint)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

I've got a no-name classical guitar that I've been playing around with for a few months. It's about 25 years old, so it sounds nice, very mellow. Although I've learned a little bit about fingerpicking, I'm mostly using it for acoustic rock guitar (using a pick - which I've heard is bad for the strings).

I'm planning on upgrading to a steel string at some point, but the way I see it, steel or nylon string, the fretting and strumming is more or less the same - just the sound is a bit different.

So, my questions are related:
1) How long will it be before the classical is "holding me back"?
2) If I get an acoustic, should it be just acoustic, or acoustic/electric? My friend says an acoustic/electric is just more versatile, especially considering I have a classical already. And, in case I want to plug in, or record myself on a computer, it'll be much easier. I guess my budget is under $500.
3) Does cutaway vs. not-cutaway make a difference?

Thanks for your help!

300m
(@300m)
Reputable Member

redpoint,
Welcome to the forum! Steel strings on a classical is a NO-No! The neck will not take the tension of steel strings. Most classicals do not have a truss rod to remove the bow. Not sure about the pick on nylon, but I think you are OK there. Differance that I am aware of and I am not a expert on classical, joins the body at the 12th fret ve 14th for acoustic, neck is wider and body is not as wide.
On your new, I would go acoustic electric as you have the option for an amp if you desire or you can mike the sound. On the cutway, I think that is personsl preference. You really need to try on in a guitar shop and see whay you think for your self. You need someone like Nick who does alot with acoustic to give a better answer here.
Welcome!

John M

ReplyQuote
(@hawken)
Trusted Member