After 1 month what ...

Notifications
Clear all

After 1 month what should be learned?

18 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)

Being a teacher myself I should know better than to ask this question (didn't you know teachers make the WORST students!) but I would like to get a general idea where one should be after 4 1/2 weeks of practice. Now I know you are going to say "well it depends on how much, how hard, and what quality of practice". Well I practiced at least 1 hour everyday (usually more like 2-3 hours over a whole day). I did some basics, some songs, and some experimentation (usually when on Guitar Port) just to hear different sounds.

What should a newbie be able to do after one month of what I feel was solid practice? A guestament would be just fine!

Thanks

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

There's such a range it's not even funny.

My slowest student this year: in one month, he'd learned two chords, could strum them haltingly and change very slowly, could read the first string E-F-G notes ok, could struggle through second string B-C-D notes, and could do a so-so 'Enter Sandman' riff. (He's 13 and a big Metallica fan - I used that to try to keep him interested)

My fastest student this year: in one month, mastered all the first position natural notes and could read them in quarter note rhythms at sight, in time, at moderate tempos. He could sight read accidentals applied to notes with just slight variations in his tempo. He could play all the first position major and minor chords (including the F major) from memory with reasonably efficient changes, and his sense of time was excellent. (He's retired, has a lot of time to devote to practice, and plays another instrument)