Clear all

Alternative thread on guitar lessons

16 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@kirkd)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I've been self-teaching guitar for a little over a month now. I have a Peavy Mantis that I got for my 17th birthday (I'm 37 now) that I never learned to play properly and has been sitting in its case for over 15 years. I know, I know.... Anyway, I've become re-motivated to learn and have been hitting it pretty hard for the past month or so.

My original intent was to get guitar instruction software - I choose Jamorama which isn't bad, I think - and do this for a few months to see if I stick with it. At this point I'm certain I'll stick with it, so I'm contemplating lessons. The problem is, lessons will cost me about $100 per month and I just can't afford it. I suppose I could afford it, but it would be a stretch. So, I thought I would continue with Jamorama, go through some of the beginner songs here, and the absolute beginner's guide over at GuitarTricks.com.

Now the question - am I going to be doing myself a disservice by self-instruction? Is this a reasonable plan? Are black guitars really louder?

-Kirk

(@dl0571)
Reputable Member

I've been playing for 4 years and have never had a lesson. However, I have done a lot of "informal jams" with guitar playing friends and I can honestly say that's what helped me the most. This site, a few good tabs and ambition is all you really need to become a decent guitar player. There are some free (but not necessarily great) lessons on youtube as well, but I use those mostly just to see if my hand positions are correct.

Many will disagree with me but I think that if you have the will you can be a good guitar player without formal lessons. If you want to be the next ____________ (insert your guitar hero here), then you might want to spend the money.

"How could you possibly be scared of being bad? Once you get past that, it's all beautiful." -Trey Anastasio

ReplyQuote
(@kirkd)
Trusted Member
Topic starter