Notifications
Clear all

Bad Habit I've Got

12 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@redhotukm)
Topic starter  

How can I get out of this habit ? I am fairly new to guitar, I have learned about 8 chords, but when I am strumming I tend to strum the syllables in the words eg Beautiful Noise , I would strum Beau ti ful Noise DUD for beautiful and down for Noise, and continue in that vain through the whold song, I have read all about strumming patterns, but does that not make all the songs sound the same if for loads of songs you strum DDU UDD? etc etc
Sorry if this sounds thick but I would really appreciate some help Thank You

(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

First, welcome to GN - ey up, another Northern lad!

I find it helps, when I'm trying to learn a new song, to strum along with the CD - I try and get the approximate strumming pattern right, by focussing on the guitar rather than the lyrics. Then, and only then, I'll try the vocals. It's important to remember though, when you're following a strumming pattern, to keep your strumming hand moving rhythmically - down, up, down, up, down, up, etc, only hitting the strings when you need to. Like anything else to do with guitar, it's hard at first, but with practise, eventually it'll come together.

Good luck!

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@redhotukm)
Topic starter  

First, welcome to GN - ey up, another Northern lad!