Clear all

Are chords the best way to start?

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@pduck)
Topic starter  

Hi everyone -

I am a rank beginner, starting from scratch. I am 53 years old, never had a music lesson in my life, but decided to learn acoustic guitar, with fingerpicking folk type music as my ultimate goal. I received my first guitar yesterday and am having some trouble playing chords. I always seem to mute the string just below the one I am fretting. My hands and fingers are of average size, so I am obviously doing something wrong with hand placement. My question is if practicing chords the best way to start learning to play, or are there some simpler exercises that I should be doing first?

Thanks
Pete

(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

One thing you'll need to do is develop the neuro-muscular connections that allows you to move your fingers where you want them.

Start with your first finger on the first string at the first fret, pluck the note. Without moving your first finger, put your second finger down on the first string at the second fret, pluck the note. Continue for the other fingers.

Now move ONLY your first finger to the first fret, second string, and pluck that note. Don't move anything but your first finger, and make sure the note sounds clearly. Now move your second finger to the second fret second string, again moving only that finger, and pluck the note. continue for the other fingers.

Keep going over the fret till you get to the 6th string. You should have your first through 4th fingers each on the first through fourth frets of the 6th string.

Now come back down the the strings to the first string in the same way as you went up.

When you get to the first string move down so that your first finger is at the second fret, and do it again. Continue till you get down to the twelfth fret.

This is a great warm-up excercise and it helps get your fingers used to moving independently of each other.