Skip to content
Barre Chord Hell is...

Notifications
Clear all

Barre Chord Hell is getting me down, pass the Prozac...

14 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@mattguitar_1567859575)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Guys and gals

This is destroying me. I have been playing for about 2 years now, and have got pretty good at open chords, can finger pick ok, the only thing really holding me back is barre chords. I have tried and tried and tried, but still can't get the hang of it. I play a decent acoustic (Larivee) and the action is fine, so i don't think its the guitar.

When i form an E shape with my middle, ring and pinky, I can move it up and down the neck no problem, it feels natural and i am happy with it. My index finger looks poised to just drop down onto the fret board and away we go.....BUT when i actually apply my index finger, the nice E shape i had gets all distorted - even if I manage to get the strings I am fretting with the index finger to ring, I can't get the others to!

I have recently bought a Yamaha electric (just a Pacifica to start learning electric on).

Please can you help, I have tried everything. I really need a concise guide to not only how to do it, but how it should feel when done right. Is it worth learning the barre's on my electric until I am confident to move to the acoustic?

Frustrated, I am sure this puts a LOT of newbies off!

Matt

(@djbouch)
Eminent Member

Check out this link:

http://www.douglasniedt.citymax.com/page/page/513109.htm

I think it might help

ReplyQuote
(@stjames1759)
Eminent Member

Check out this link:

I think it might help

Does anyone else use this method??

ReplyQuote
(@mattguitar_1567859575)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Yeah I would love to know this too - is it an unusual way of looking at things or is this "standard" way of approaching it?

Fascinating article though, thanks for posting it

Matt

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Check out this photo.

Barre Chord