Clear all

Barre Chord Question

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@chymera)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hey Guys, Im going to start practising barre chords and there is a song I like that use B Flat, C barre and A barre which I think I'l start with. Anyway, I have no notion how to form these so could anyone please tell me for each of the three chords which fret I barre and also what strings/ frets my other fingers or on as I'm seriously lost. Thanks alot

(@fretsource)
Prominent Member

A major as a barre chord can be played as
577655 (that's frets on the 6 strings from 6 to 1)

For Bb everything is shifted one fret higher: 688766

And C is 3 frets higher: 8 10 10 9 8 8

Other shapes are possible too.

ReplyQuote
(@chymera)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Thanks for the reply but I don't understand what you mean with them numbers. I'm very new to all this so excuse my ignorance :(

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

A barre chord is normally an E-shaped chord, or an A-shaped chord, moved higher up the neck of the guitar with a barre across the strings.

Take an E chord - for this you'd need to play the bottom E string open (note = E) the A string at the 2nd fret( note=B) the D string at the second fret (note=E) the G string at the first fret (note=G# or Ab) the B string open (B) and the top E string open (E.) This is commonly written thus:

EADGBE
022 100