Beginner Advice Sought!

24 Posts
22 Users
0 Likes
(@plakerl)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hello All,

New to this forum and guitar for that matter. I have been playing for 6 months and taking a lesson once a week. My issue is that I feel that I my progression isn;t where it should be. Part of the problem might be goal setting but I would like to see how other beginners paved the way to success. I am using a combination of resources to learn. I suppose I would be satisfied knowing I can make it through songs that I know myself and others would enjoy. Examples would be fun Kids tunes for my boy and classic and alternative rock songs.

Any advice appreciated.

(@Anonymous)

I've played for two years and I would plateau occasionally and feel discouraged but, generally, I've felt successful. It's all relative but I think that what worked for me was that my goals were achievable but I kept wanting more.

Kids tunes are a good place to start because you can get away with strumming once each bar and then start adding a little more to it once you're comfortable with it.

Also, I found that it took me a long time to be able to play the songs I wanted to at the speed of the original recording but that I could play them well at a half speed. I think it's good to be able to play the chord changes, etc then work on speed (which doesn't let you play with the original recording, sadly).

Hope this helps.

ReplyQuote
(@ldavis04)
Reputable Member

Howdy and welcome to GN.

I have been playing for all of 8 months now...when I first started I was overwhelmed....still am. There is much to learn...but, having a clear, achieveable goal will help you greatly. What are your specific goals?

I may grow old, but I'll never grow up.

ReplyQuote
(@plakerl)
Eminent Member
Topic starter