Clear all

Building Speed

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@fah-q)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Ive been playing for a few years now and cant seem to get down any fast licks. Is there some exercising for stretching, etc. that would help me build up speed? I did have surgery on a tendon to completely repair it in my index finger so im wondering if that is the case.
Thanks

(@welshman)
Estimable Member

I've never been to see a guitar teacher Fah, so I'm afraid I have no magic answers. The only thing I have learned is through a sometimes tedious process that at teh end of teh day everything improves the more I practice ... practice ... practice. I've lost count of the songs, riffs, melodies that I have thought impossible that eventually have come to me and now seem relatively straightforward simply cos I make a point of practicing them every day. In some respects I am very lucky in that I have a guitar around me all day and every day so I can just pick it up and play (even for only a few minutes) - and I'm convinced that helps.

I understand that practicing scales every day improves your speed - well I do that but can't honestly argue that my speed has increased for that reason alone. For me it's just down to the fact that when it comes to guitar I'm a cantankerous old git that won't give in ... :D

I once read an interview with a classical guitarist who argued that his fingers have a memory and just like when we were at school we need to rehearse so that things stay in memory. Trouble is - I sometimes have days when my fingers seem to suffer from chronic dementia!

Don't give in .. keep practicing .. and when you get really bored .. just try 15 mins more. Oh and if you can try smiling at the same time cos you are supposed to be enjoying yourself!!!

D

What did the guitarist do when he was told to turn on his amp?
He caressed it softly and told it that he loved it.

ReplyQuote
(@medarrah)
Estimable Member