Clear all

Which way is the best to learn?

11 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@medarrah)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Is it better to just Cram it all in, and practice that daily for a while until I got that down pat, or do little by little each day? (should I say "cram?")
Which way is easiest to help me remeber?
Since I am a newbie, I tend to spend a lot of time playing around on my guitar, because I just cant put it down... So I was just askin'.

(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Guitar is no different from life itself, you have to have a balance. If all you do is work, you will have lots of money but you will be a miserable soul. If all you do is play, you will be broke and probably find yourself in trouble often. :D

Guitar is the same. If you want to really be a good guitar player you need to work, which means organized practice to attain certain goals. So practice sight-reading, scales, chords and such. This is not always a lot of fun, sometimes it's downright boring, but necessary to improve.

But you must have some fun too. Sometimes you have to put the books and lessons away and just jam out. :twisted:

Learn this now: Guitar is not something you learn to play well in a few days or weeks. If you really want to be a good guitarist you must commit yourself to it. Keep playing and you will get good in time. :wink:

If you know something better than Rock and Roll, I'd like to hear it - Jerry Lee Lewis

ReplyQuote
(@medarrah)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Thanks Wes.

ReplyQuote
(@clazon)
Honorable Member

Personally I'll just introduce somethign new and do it for a very short time the first time ever. Then after that I;ll commit alot of time to it to make sure it gets up to speed.