Notifications
Clear all

Can Everyone Learn To Play?

20 Posts
15 Users
0 Likes
(@mikey)
Reputable Member

I think playing with "feel" or emotion comes in after one gains confidence in their playing.

Think of playing as riding a bicycle. When you are first learning to ride you feel the pedals under your feet, your grasp on the handle bars practically makes dents in the metal, you stare down at the front tire to make sure its going straight. You could ride right past a UFO and never notice. After you learn and become confident with your riding you look at the scenery and enjoy the ride. The physical act of riding and balance becomes relagated to your subconscience.

When you first are learning the guitar you are so bound up with hitting the right frets while plucking the right strings that you can't "feel" the music. At least that's what I've found when I just started playing.

Take the basic minor pentonic scale. At first you methodically practice it to memory, then you find that while you can bend or slide into any note, some notes sound better being bent/slid into than others. At some point you'll be able to pick up your guitar and just play phrases that sound good. There's nothing written down, you really don't think about where the music is going, you just play and look at the scenery as you go along.

Just my thoughts.

Michael

Playing an instrument is good for your soul

ReplyQuote
(@slydog)
Reputable Member

Think of playing as riding a bicycle. When you are first learning to ride you feel the pedals under your feet, your grasp on the handle bars practically makes dents in the metal, you stare down at the front tire to make sure its going straight.

I still believe that some things just come more naturally to some people. I'll use the bike analogy.