Clear all

Pick Questions?

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@lenny56)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for about 2 months now and have a question on picks.
Been using a medium pick, but I notice it makes strumming the chords smoothly a bit difficult.
If I try to keep up a constant level of strumming, some strikes make the chord sound normal, some come out either too loud or too soft.
I was wondering if the "give" of a light gage pick would even out the strumming a bit.
I'll probably just go out and buy a pack of light picks as they're cheap enough.
Just wanted to hear what you all had to say about it.
Lenny

(@lord_ariez)
Reputable Member

Light picks are very good for strumming but if you want to pick some single notes out its very quite. I have some cool picks that are medium but there is a line in the middle that makes it so you use it either soft or hard by 'coking' up or down on it.

'You and I in a little toy shop, bought a bag of balloons with the money we got"

feel free to talk with me on msn at [email protected]..... no icq anymore

ReplyQuote
(@bmxdude)
Estimable Member

Just buy alot of diffrent picks and find out for yourself.

"The answer is practice.
Now, what's the question?"
Words by David Mead.

ReplyQuote
(@morpheus)
Trusted Member

Just my experience:

When I started I found I preferred lighter/ thinner picks. For me it was just easier to strum with them in the beginning. As time went along I slowly started using thicker picks. That's what I prefer now.

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member