choosing a cheap acoustic/electric

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
 jeke
(@jeke)
Topic starter  

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner, new to the forum; I've been playing about a month on an awful old nylon-stringed guitar (and I do mean *awful*). I'm looking to buy a real guitar; something that I can learn on that's easy to play and sounds relatively good. I'm probably going to be playing mostly folk and rock stuff, stuff like Beatles, Dylan, Pink Floyd, Simon & Garfunkel, so I've decided I want an acoustic-electric; I really like the resonance and warmth of an acoustic instrument (having played violin for 14 years) but I also want to be able to plug in to record myself, play with effects, etc. Unfortunately I'm a poor 17-year-old about to go off to college, so my budget is really limited. I can probably spend about $300 on a guitar and accessories (strings, case, capo, strap, etc., not including an amp for now). There seem to be a bunch of pretty well-rated guitars around the $200 price point:

Takamine Jasmine http://www.zzounds.com/item--TAKJASES31CBK

Applause AE128 http://www.zzounds.com/item--DNEPEA

Dean Performer EA http://www.zzounds.com/item--DNEPEA

Ibanez V70CE http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Ibanez-V70CE-AcousticElectric-Guitar?sku=519468

I'm gonna go around to some local music shops over the next few days and see what they have, cause I hate to buy an instrument online that I've never seen or played, but I'm sure the prices will probably be higher locally, especially with our 10% sales tax, so I'll probably end up buying online. So does anyone know anything about any of these guitars, or have any recommendations for a good guitar in my price range?

David

(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member

Hi David, and welcome to GN! 8)