Chord Changing

11 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@bokonon)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi everyone,

I have been lurking for a few months now and finally decided to register. I am an absolute beginner. Everything I have learned has been from this site, Youtube, or the DVD that came with my guitar. By the way thanks for posting so much great information.

My question is about changing from an A minor chord to a C chord. Is it in-proper to slide your fingers down the strings? Sometimes I get a fair amount of noise sliding on the steel acoustic strings. Thanks again.

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

welcome to the forum. great question.
I will answer to open chord changes instead of barre chords.
with Am and C you have one of the easiest changes you can make. and it sounds awesome.
in Am your index finger is already placed perfectly on the C note. that is the second second first fret. the B string.
your middle finger does not have to move either. it's right were it belongs for both Am and C.
the ring finger is the one you move. I sort of slide a bit forward so I can reach the string on the third fret.

you can lett some strings ring out while making the changes. it is a very smooth change and sounds musically good.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

As a general rule, you should lift your fingers off the strings and place them each time you change chords.

In reality, we all slide a bit, lift a bit, miss a bit and sort of get it right any way we can. In the early days, it's more important to be able to make the chord change accurately, you can worry about exactly how it sounds later.

A certain amount of string noise goes with the territory as a guitarist. You cannot eliminate it completely because if you spend your life trying to eliminate it you're not spending any time enjoying your guitar.

Welcome to the party. We think you'll like it here.

A :-)