Notifications
Clear all

Where do I start?

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@tymaster25)
Topic starter  

I have been "playing guitar" for abouth a month. I mean Playing as in looking up tabs and playing them. Will someone please give me some ideas to get started. I have a Electric/Acoustic guitar. I am 13 and cant afford lessons.
PLEASE HELP Thks

(@almann1979)
Noble Member

just find a song you like and learn to strum along to it. that'll teach you chords and youll enjoy it, so you wont give up. then when you can do that on a few songs and know your barre chords, learn your scales and start learning simple solos' - oasis is good for this. see if you can see how the solo's fit into the scales. after this, you are well on your way.

having said that, im no expert, but this is what i did 36months ago and i think i've progressed well.
good luck

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
(@kcfenderfan)
Honorable Member

First off, welcome to Guitar Noise. In my opinion it is "the" place to come for anything guitar related. Here is a link for the easy song lessons on this website. https://www.guitarnoise.com/topics/easy-guitar-songs/
You can also go to the "Easy Song Index." I would suggest starting with the lessons first. If there is anything you need help with, don't be afraid to ask. There are a lot of great people that post here.

Jim

ReplyQuote
(@trguitar)
Famed Member

I second the Guitar Noise lessons. I already was a fairly experienced player when I found Guitar Noise, but if I were a beginner, those lessons are the place to start. I have looked at them cause I wanted the tab for some of the songs covered and I admit, I am impressed. 8)

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard,
grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."
-- The Webb Wilder Credo --

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member