Clear all

Complete beginner and where to start???

13 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
 CJ21
(@cj21)
Topic starter  

Hi, I've just started to learn to play the guitar and at the moment I'm teaching myself at home. I've started with learning what notes are where on the fret and just playing simple tunes with single notes (which reading music doesn't come easy to me) then planning on learning cords. Is this a good way to start or should I be doing something else??? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

if you can by all means take a few lessons. it is the best way to familiarize yourself to the guitar.
learn the names of the strings, learn the names and open chord positions. learn which notes make up the chord.
that would be a good start.
train your ear by playing songs.
check out the Lessons section on this forum. youtube has tons of lessons too.

practice, play it clean, keep it simple at first.
you will build muscle memeory and soon your fingers will do the walking.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@fredramsey)
Estimable Member

It might be cool if someone made a sticky thread in this forum with the usual beginner's advice.

Just a thought.

Learning requires a willingness to be bad at something for awhile.

ReplyQuote
(@blueline)
Noble Member

It might be cool if someone made a sticky thread in this forum with the usual beginner's advice.

Just a thought.