Complete Newbie!

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
 Toki
(@toki)
Topic starter  

Hey guys and girls!

I picked up an electric guitar at the end of last year for kicks, bought a plain package, as I didn't know if I would be able to last playing it as I have a fear of getting over something quite quickly.

I've decided recently to pick it back up as the first couple of times I was just stuffing around strumming randomly, but now I'm actually seriously looking at playing it to keep my mind busy and off a lot of things going on in my life.

I started learning the Intro to In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3 by Coheed and Cambria, just the very intro as I love its simple sound.

A live version of the song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OxowWo_XV_c

A cleaner CD version: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NE2sh694SsI

Those aren't my videos by the way.

These are the Tabs I've been playing off: http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/tabs/c/coheed_and_cambria/in_keeping_secrets_of_silent_earth_3_ver4_tab.htm

I guess, I'm lost, I can play the first couple of notes easy I can do the pull off the hammer on's and what not, but I'm having some serious problems moving around the neck/fretboard speed and accuracy wise, but that should improve over time I guess, but my whole left shoulder starts to get sore after a while, and my fingers absolutely kill me when I'm trying some of the other parts of that song like the simple strumming parts, my fingers lock up, I get major pains all throughout my hand, and the part that is annoying me the most is as much as I arch my fingers up and over, a lot of the time I'm still hitting other strings with my edges of my fingers no matter what I do, Sometimes I can get away with it, but sadly I think I have short fat fingers :(.