Clear all

Stupid Question

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@william55)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I am new to playing a guitar today is my 2nd day! I am playing the "horse with no name" song with the upward strokes. The notes I am using is Em and Dadd6add9 (Is that an Fm? confused why it is Dadd6add9) I have a few questions here and some of them are really dumb so bear with me lol.

#1. Is the guy using a pick on the audio sections of that song? Where you can listen to him play?

#2. When you do an upward stroke what is the kind of motion for hitting the strings you want to do? I just don't sound as clear as that guy, And he sounds like he is getting higher pitch sounds then me. I am getting more dull sounds then him. From the top notes of E, A, and D.

#3. When your holding a Chord, Lets take Em for example. Is your goal to hit the strings that your holding down on the fret board more? For example on Em, Should I focus on hitting A, and D more then the other strings? Or just hit it all the way through? I know its kind of a dumb question, But better to find out now then later haha.

#4. On that sample he is playing with the upward strokes, he says he lays his hand on the strings to stop the sound so he can keep hitting it to make it sound really cool. But how does he lay his hand across it while using the pick? I try it and sometimes I miss chords or can't do it fast enough to hit it up. Thanks for replies you guys appreciate it.

(@clideguitar)
Reputable Member

William55, the good thing about this site is there: “there are no stupid questions”
I know because I've posted a number of them!

I think, when you're just starting out using a pick (exclusively) is a mistake, Use your thumb (and or fingers) for strumming, and doing little (riff's), then when you get rhythm, try the pick.

Use a thin pick, then advance to med, thick. Etc.

Just try it, see how it works out for you.