Clear all

Complete NOOB

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@christian713)
Topic starter  

Hey everyone,
Let's just say, I'm so new...I don't even have a guitar yet. I'm really interested on learning how to play the guitar. I'm 16 and live in Miami. I read and skate....nothing to interesting. Anyway, I'm not sure as to what type of guitar I should buy first. I'm pretty sure I was an acoustic, but I'm not sure what brand. What is the difference between guitar a and guitar b. Anyway, my price range is within 200 dollars. Please let me know what you guys recomend. Thank you.

bltc
(@bltc)
Trusted Member

Welcome!
I started when I was 16 also, I started off with a Yamaha f310. IMO its a very solid acoustic guitar for anyone starting off. It should be with your price range too. I got mine for 300 Canadian so thta about like $1.25 American j/k...
It should be around $200 American.

Good luck!

ReplyQuote
(@longdave)
Trusted Member

Find a local guitar shop. That is, a shop that sells only, or mainly guitars (as opposed to a general musical instrument shop). Even if you have to travel a distance to find one, they are worth the visit. Tell the assistant what you said above, and let him/her suggest a few models for you. They will ask you to try a couple out, which will make you feel embarrassed because you can't play yet. Ask the assistant to play a few licks and riffs for you. You should still try it on for size, to see if it feels comfortable around your neck.

At that price, the choice probably goes down to a Squier Strat (or equivalent - Yamaha make a good entry-level strat), or a Les Paul style (Epiphone, etc) guitar. They are both electric and you will be probably be able to get a good deal on a guitar and amp if bought together.

If you want an acoustic, then you could pick up a good starter model well within your budget (though you would want to spend up to your budget to get the best guitar you can).