Clear all

Dialing into Hendrix Tone?

8 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@preacher)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I have a Squire Strat, and a Line 6 Spider 3 30 watt. Im really a beginner at dialing in sound on an amp. The fact is that untill I got this amp last week, I was playing through my radio. A few songs Ive kind of figured out, Wind Cries Mary, Little Wing, Red House, ect. Baisically songs on a clean setting. But I cant quite get distorted songs, Purple haze, Crosstown Traffic. Hendrix is by far one of my favorite guitarists, and Im trying to imulate him the best I can.
Thank you for your time,
-Preacher-

I play the guitar, I taught myself how to play the guitar, which was a bad decision... because I didn't know how to play it, so I was a sh***y teacher. I would never have went to me. -Mitch Hedberg

Cat
(@cat)
Noble Member

Have you tried playing lefty through a Sun stack off a Strat with yer teeth??? :wink:

Cat

"Feel what you play...play what you feel!"

ReplyQuote
(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

The line 6 support board had a thread called "share ytour settings", which is where I found this:
Purple Haze
channel-crunch
drive-9
bass-4
mid-10.5
treble-6
chan. vol.-7.5
FX-a little bit below halfway on reverb

Here's another

Amp model: Crunch 'red'
Gain: 9
Bass: 9
Mid: 8
Treble: 7
Channel volume: 9
Master Volume: your choice
Reverb: 3
No other efx activated.

I don't know how good those will sound. (I use a V-amp myself)
There are lots of user-posted setting suggestions at that site. They are probably good starting points for you to tweak to exactly what you want.

Good luck, and have fun.

*edit*
I also found this buried in the support section of the Line 6 web site. Hope that helps.

I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep

ReplyQuote
(@preacher)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Have you tried playing lefty through a Sun stack off a Strat with yer teeth??? :wink:

Cat
I tried that, even set the guitar on fire. But no cigar on that. :lol: