Skip to content
Differnce between E...

Notifications
Clear all

Differnce between Epi Special II and SG G-310?

9 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@snaphook)
Topic starter  

I am an absolute beginner and have been doing a little research on some decent starter guitars. I have narrowed it down (I think) to the Dean EVO XM or a Epi LP Special II.

I think either would work for what I want to use it for.... learning and hopefully after that playing some hard metal riffs.

I did stumble across a used SG G-310 and was considered that as well. Besides having 2 tone and 2 volume controls what else can you tell me about the G-310 vs the special II?

Any input it great or even if you have another recomendation for my 1st guitar.

Thanks
Justin

(@strat)

The les pauls are great guitars that have the packed in sounds for great stage performance.

Jake

Live to Play Play to live.

ReplyQuote
(@snaphook)
Topic starter  

thanks for the reply. anyone else?

ReplyQuote
 Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

I think the biggest difference would be the price. I believe all the guitars you mentioned have 2 humbuckings each. That alone will give you your metal sound. Yea, there will be a difference in the tone because of the different pups but, to what extent.....I don't know.

Don't get me wrong though, I have an Epiphone Spirit (duel humbuckings) and I can get a mean blues sound on my clean channel. But throw that puppy in overdrive.....and I can get real heavy.

Sorry for not being a big help.

ReplyQuote
(@snaphook)
Topic starter  

Thanks tracker! I know they will probably sound different and on the more expensive model it will have better quality (or maybe just different) components.

So anyway, that's kinda what I was looking for. I think I'm ready to stop researching and start buying!

ReplyQuote
(@snaphook)
Topic starter  

well i went with the Epi LP Special II. I think it will work just fine for me getting started.