Clear all

do pick ups really make a differene

26 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Well, im certainly NOT a good guitarist, but i have been playing a couple of years. the reason i am so naive about getting a good sound is because up until recently i have just played on a small practice amp on my own in my attic. now i am in a band with some people at work and i have had coments i need to get the sound sorted. www.abouttimeband.biz - this isnt a cheaky advert, we have some demo's on there that highlight the problem.

by the way, i am also having intonation problems - if anybody cares to check out the brown eyed girl intro it is very clear on that - this is another thing i dont know how to fix?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member

I'll take care of that in the summer if you don't get it sorted before then. In the meantime, you can probably do it yourself. Using a tuner to check open string and 12ths string pitch (or harmonics) and adjusting the saddles on your bridge via the little screws at the back of the bridge (just underneath the strings) to sharpen/flatten it accordingly.

hth

Ra Er Ga.

Ninjazz have SuperChops.

http://www.blipfoto.com/Scrybe

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

My experience..

I have a 2006 Fender Strat (made in Mexico) which I played through a Roland Micro Cube mainly the clean channels and to me it sounded ok but I was never really happy with the neck and middle pick ups I usually used the bridge pick up most of the times..

But then I got myself a second hand Peavey Classic 30 watt all tube amp the difference (to me) was astronomical... :D
The neck and middle pick ups just seemed to come alive. It made a huge difference to the overall tone of the guitar.