Clear all

Drop B Drop B flat

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
18.6 K Views
(@noob_guitarist)
Topic starter  

Hi guys. I'm actually a drummer, primarily. I do play some guitar just to write songs but I'm completely clueless to the anatomy of guitars. I bought a beautiful Michael Kelly and had it set for drop B tuning. I have Beefy Slinky 11-54s on it. Would it hurt my guitar or truss rod to go to drop B flat without having anything reset? It doesn't seem like a huge stretch but I don't want to damage my pretty new guitar. Thanks

(@davidhodge)

I'm assuming you by "drop B" you actually are thinking of "B standard" where all the strings are lowered, in other words BEADF#B from low to high and not just dropping the low E string to B.

The problem is that, even with Beefy Slinkys, that's pretty low for most guitars to hold the tension on the strings without a longer neck. If you're interested in playing that low you should either get a seven string guitar or a baritone guitar or just a baritone neck to put on your current guitar, assuming you can swap out the neck.

Hope this helps. And welcome to Guitar Noise, by the way.

Peace

ReplyQuote
(@noob_guitarist)
Topic starter  

Low to high it's actually B, F#, b, E, G#, C#. The tension is perfect. I get zero rubber band effect cause I just had it set up for this tuning. The tuning I want to go to now is B flat, F, A#, D#, G, C. That's the tuning that At the Gates and In Flames used. I'm pretty sure they had six string guitars that werent baritone. I just love that low Gothenburg tone. It was like 25 bucks to get it set up for drop B and I really don't feel like paying another 25 bucks to tune it barely a half step lower. As my name dispays, I'm a noob at guitar. I just don't want to damage the truss rod or anything. It seems like a harmless drop but I don't want to chance it without someone who regularly uses these low tunings to give me an opinion.

ReplyQuote
 Crow
(@crow)
Honorable Member