Skip to content
electric guitars - ...

Notifications
Clear all

electric guitars - are some wider than others?

15 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
 pab
(@pab)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

hi everyone - i've been playing now for over 10 months and just got a Larrivee guitar over christmas. before that, i was using the yamaha beginning guitar. b/c i've been taking lessons and working on fingerstyle songs, the wider nut of the larrivee is so great and makes a world of difference. btw, as a little plug, i bought mine off of jim @ trinity guitars. i ordered it on a friday and it was received on tuesday, with an excellent low action that i requested. i just think that when someone in retail does a good job, they should receive a comment.

my question is, do some electric guitars come with wider nuts? i have a squier 51 and haven't been playing around with it all that much b/c i've been working on the acoustic so much. also, i find it awkward to play an electric (i'm assuming it will be something i'll just have to get used to but to me there is a big difference in how they feel when i'm playing them compared to the acoustic).

if so, do you have any companies/models to suggest?

thanks,

paul

(@clau20)
Reputable Member

Yeah, some electric guitar have wider neck

I played on a Squier, the sound was great, but I felt a bit squeeze on the neck (but I got use to it after a few minutes of play)

My guitar has a wider neck. It's an Ibanez SZ520. I like it, very easy to play. The neck is wider but also thiner than a Squier (ok those are opposite, but you understand what I mean? :roll: ).

" First time I heard the music
I thought it was my own
I could feel it in my heartbeat
I could feel it in my bones
... Blame it on the love of Rock'n'Roll! "

ReplyQuote
 pab
(@pab)
Estimable Member
Topic starter