Notifications
Clear all

electric question.

14 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@imyourdaddy)
Topic starter  

a few years ago, I bought a piece of crap wannabe fender strat on ebay.now, i have been playing acoustic for a few years now, but I still know very little about electric guitars. my question is- if I bought fender pickups and put them in my fake strat, would it sound like a real strat? or would there be other things i'd have to do?

thanks for the help,
Kevin.

(@clazon)
Honorable Member

Your sound would improve if you put more expensive pick ups in, although it wouldn't be just like a proper Fender Strat.

Things like the wood used for the body, the quality of the electrics/wiring and the build quality of the bridge/neck all affect sound/playability.

"Today is what it means to be young..."

(Radiohead, RHCP, Jimi Hendrix - the big 3)

ReplyQuote
(@coloradofenderbender)
Noble Member

I agree with Clazon - the sound would be improved, but probably would still not sound like a Strat. Besides, why do you want to spend money to upgrade a piece of crap, as you call it? Do you like everything else about the guitar? Does it feel really good when you play, are the frets well done, is the finsih good? (and on and on)

Like most people who have been playing a few years, there comes a point when you "abandon" the beginner level guitar and get something better. Save your money that you were going to spend on new pickups. You can get a really nice electric guitar nowadays for $300 - $400. As long as you are not a professional musician, these guitars will be a big upgrade, will sound good, play well & feel good. If you are looking for the Strat sound & feel, you can get a brand new MIM Strat, which are pretty good guitars, for around $350.

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)