Notifications
Clear all

F and other barre chords

13 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@tourne)
Topic starter  

I'm just starting out (again) to learn the guitar and I'm finding the guitarnoise site to be a great source of help. However, I do have one particular problem I'd like to ask about.

I have fairly small hands and fingers and I find the F chord and other barre chords especially difficult. I can't easily press all six string down together, so I get a lot of dead strings and buzzing. I'm also very slow to change in and out of it, especially because of the physical effort I need to put in to hold the chord.

So, I usually use just the four high strings and miss out the base notes, which doesn't always sound good.

Anyone have any tips for those with small fingers on how to learn to play those barre chords effectively?

Tourne

(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

Practice them. Sorry, but that's the only way to get it. Big hands, small hands, no hands, we all have had major issues with those darned barre chords (and F is the worst!).

ReplyQuote
(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

Barre chords are a bear.

Try this:

Start practicing at the fifth fret.
Make sure your index finger is as close as possible to the fret.
Remember, your index finger only has to hold down three strings.
Keep in mind that you aren't squeezing the neck front and back, you are applying pressure to the string side.
Keep your elbow in.
Lift the neck into a bit more of a classical position.

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

I can only say what has helped me.
Play the same barre shape (E shaped barre) that you use for the F chord high up the neck, start at around the 10th fret.
2 things happen here. Strings are easier to push down and frets are closer together.
When you get that down and can play cleanly gradually move down the neck.
I too have small hands.
It will come to you with practice.

ReplyQuote
(@bmxdude)
Estimable Member