Skip to content
Recommendations for...

Notifications
Clear all

Recommendations for Instructional Videos?

11 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@guyfrompei)
Topic starter  

I have been playing my acoustic for about 2 years now. I am self taught other than a community school program I attended to get started. I began on a Yamaha classical guitar (although I wasn't playing classical style) and now have a Vester acoustic. Like many of you, I am pretty busy at work and with kids so I don't have time (or the money) to take lessons to improve my skills. I have used the Beginner and Intermediate lessons on GuitarNoise (thanks Dave), however, I am interested in obtaining a DVD instructional video so that I can improve my guitar playing. I would like to have a video that starts at the beginner level (so that I can ensure I am doing the basics correctly) and progresses into an intermediate level so that I can learn new skills.
I have seen many advertisements for instructional videos but it is hard to ensure that they are of good quality and value. Can anyone (editor's included) recommend any good instructional videos that fall under a beginner-intermediate category?

(@lord_ariez)
Reputable Member

Can't help you with the video's, all I can say is grab yourself a metronome and do ALOT of reading. I ussually don't recommend videos, even teachers, I feel that when learning the guitar you should have your own style, even when it comes to the basics. Learn fingerings for the songs in the Easy Song database here, keep playin untill u have it memorized, then play it with your metronome or a drum loop that you can download from almost anywhere.

Allot of teachers are willing to work around your shedule and if u have a good memory you may only need two or three lessons to have a firm grip on the 'basics'. Learn scales and chord progresions and build yourself on that foundation! GOod luck!!

'You and I in a little toy shop, bought a bag of balloons with the money we got"