Notifications
Clear all

f chord blues

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@harryfoo)
Topic starter  

hi everyone first timer, could anyone give me any tips regarding the f chord,i can't for the life of me get the index finger to fret the open strings and the chord sounds rubbish. i have short stubby fingers and the knuckle joint seems to be the main problem , can't seem to get the middle part of the finger to press on the strings.
cheers

300m
(@300m)
Reputable Member

HI harry, welcome to the forum. I cannot offer an easier solution than to keep trying. That worked for me. The buzzing or muting just stoped and I started playing the cord better. Take it from someone learing alt barre cord forms, it is just partice. I feel your pain/frustration as I am going through something simular now learning D & C barre shapes. Pratice will finally get your fingers the muscle memory and strenght to hold the cord. Just remember to take a break and stop if you get pain in the wrist from making the cord.

John M

ReplyQuote
(@pappajohn)
Honorable Member

Just like your fingertips, your barre finger will toughen up in time.

Try barring the strings slightly to the outside of your finger - as if you were rolling your finger slightly toward your thumb.

-- John

"Hip woman walking on a moving floor, tripping on the escalator.
There's a man in the line and she's blowin' his mind, thinking that he's already made her."

'Coming into Los Angeles' - Arlo Guthrie

ReplyQuote
(@jonetoe)
Reputable Member

In the meantime you can use Fmaj7 which is the same fingers except your index only frets the B string first fret. It sounds close enough too the F

ReplyQuote
(@harryfoo)
Topic starter  

cheers everyone and thankyou for your prompt replys, iwill keep on trying no pain no gain

ReplyQuote
(@shibby)
Estimable Member