Clear all

Fingers and Chords - Daunting....

15 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@mr_clean001)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

OK, so I have had my new acoustic guitar for a month and I have been putting in 30 minutes a day practicing and my fingers hurt like a SOB, but I perservere and take breaks then go back to it. I start lessons on Monday and my teacher may be able to help with this, but trying to hit certain chords, like A or one of the Ds I am starting to worry that my fingers are too big to fret some of these chords or not long enough to fret others.

Am I makiing a mountain out of a mole hill? Are there any excercises I can do during the day to get my fingers used to stretching like that? Is it possible that my fingers just aren't long enough to play the guitar?

Sorry about the stupid questions, but I am really new at this.

Thanks,
Mr_Clean

"Practice until you get a guitar welt on your chest...if it makes you
feel good, don't stop until you see the blood from your fingers.
Then you'll know you're on to something!"
- Ted Nugent

(@twistedfingers)
Honorable Member

Trust me when I say we've all been there. Just keep practicing and one day you'll surprise yourself.

You're fingers are plenty long enough. Best exercise for chord changing is to just keep doing it. A good thing to do is to practice moving from one to the next very slowly, concentrating on how your fingers leave the strings and where they go for the next one.

Hang in there and it will come. Welcome the the Best Guitar Forum on the net!

Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming -- "WOW--What a Ride!"

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

Your fingers will get used to it in time.
Fat fingers seem to get thinner after playing for a while (may not be true but seems that way)