Clear all

Forearm hurts

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@kryogenik)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been trying to learn the solo to Stairway to Heaven for a couple days kind of intensely. I can play it pretty well up until the insane, rapid fire bending pull-off part (just go to Stairway to Heaven Solo on Youtube, go halfway into the video or so, and you'll know what I'm talking about). But anyway, the muscles in my left forearm (if thats the word for it) hurt when I play guitar, mostly when I play notes with my pinky and ring finger. I stopped playing once I felt it this morning. Is this serious, or will it just go away in a day or two? Is it normal for this to happen? I don't want to get Carpal Tunnel Syndrome or something XD Thanks for any advice.

(@liontable)
Estimable Member

I'm a beginner too, but there might be some issues I had myself which are the cause.

Do you warm up? I've noticed this can happen when playing pretty intensive parts when just picking up the guitar, it hasn't stayed for long but it might be worth looking at, if you don't. Your brain knows which movements you have to make, but your muscles aren't ready for it yet so they are under a lot of strain (easy explanation, not qualified for the good one).

Stretching a bit too far, if it's applicable? I pretty much destroyed my left fore-arm for a week when I tried to do "Every breath you take" with some stretches which weren't exactly advisable at that point in time. Could be the same issue, not the stretch but tensing up too hard trying to do something your mind has labeled as difficult.

I think it's probably just putting too much strain due to playing very tensely, and if it's that it'll go away soon (just play a bit less, or things where you don't strain yourself). Either way, if this stays for more than a week I'd visit a doctor or something. rather safe than sorry.

(Nice job by the way, it's one I'll take a look at when my "Sultans of swing" is completely done! :D )

ReplyQuote