Notifications
Clear all

Fret hand and holding questions

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@dizzynoise)
Topic starter  

Hi, all! I am a beginner with an acoustic guitar, it's a Yamaha dreadnought (FG700S) that I bought a few years ago, that I seem to be in the habit of playing for a couple of months and then putting down for a year or two and then trying again. I've never got very far with it; I have a beginner book/DVD set that I always start with, that has me go through basic chord-less songs, which helps me to (re-)learn notes and fingering, and then I've learned parts of "real" songs, but never been able to switch chords quickly or do more than some of the more basic chords.

Every time I've played, I've gotten the impression that I am not holding my left (fretting) hand properly and I feel it. My wrist feels strained and sore from the way I bend and put pressure on it and my thumb and my wrist makes some clicking/popping noises after playing.

I've looked at countless guides and pictures and videos to try to figure out exactly what I'm supposed to be doing, but I don't know that I've ever quite figured it out. I know:
- I'm not supposed to have my thumb wrap around over top of the guitar (though I see this done all of the time)
- My thumb is supposed to be in the middle of the neck
- It's supposed to be perpendicular to the neck (I've spent a lot of time playing with it mostly parallel)
- There's supposed to be a finger width of space between the top edge of my palm and the side of the neck
- And my fingers are supposed to curl around parallel to the frets (I have a hard time with this, particularly with chords as my fingers slant downward to reach all the frets, and my index knuckle frequently rests on the side of the neck)