Clear all

Fretting giving me a headache.. too hard

9 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@d1ng0)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Im just starting to learn and im having trouble fretting notes.. if i hold down the string really close to the fret then the sound comes out correctly.. but if i try and fret a note closer to the back then the vibration seems to get blocked or something and it doesnt work... so what can I do about it.. power chords that take one or two fingers are fine but what about the A major chord.. it requires 3 fingers and one finger has to be at the back wich means the string gets kinda muffled.

Im a complete guitar newb. Feel free to e-mail me useful links for biggining players. thanks!

(@artlutherie)
Noble Member

Nick Torres had a great idea on how to do this. Make a triangle with your fingers not a straight line. Your pinky goes on the B string, index on the G string, and ring finger on the D string, or cheat and use the mini barre I.E. ring finger across all three strings but chances are you'll muffle the high E.
Just recently I saw Little Brother fret the D, mini barre the G and B and then fret the high E on 3 is that still an A?

Chuck Norris invented Kentucky Fried Chicken's famous secret recipe, with eleven herbs and spices. But nobody ever mentions the twelfth ingredient: Fear!
ChuckNorrisFactsdotCom

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

Use ur index on 3rd string , middle on 4th and ring on the 2nd string.Thats how i do it and Amaj is the simply the simplest chord.Give a try

Rahul

ReplyQuote
(@d1ng0)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Its not just A its any fret and any chord period. I get this kinda muffled sound if I dont fret the string almost right in front of the fret.. if I fret it near the middle or back then I just get a gross sounding vibration..

I guess im going to find a teacher to help me..

Im a complete guitar newb. Feel free to e-mail me useful links for biggining players. thanks!

ReplyQuote
(@tamuka)
Eminent Member

Dingo,