Going public ...

13 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@goodvichunting)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Hi Guys

On average, how long does it take before someone starts feeling comfortable with the guitar to the extent of playing in public?
I know there are a lot of factors and the answer could range from 2 months to 2 years. However, what would you say for the average case.

Thanks, as always.

Vic

Latest addition: Cover of "Don't Panic" by Coldplay
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=502670

(@b0ttleneck)

It took me about 6 months, and then I just started taking my guitar to various places and playing. You don't have to play in a coffeehouse or a bar, I started off taking my car to the park and playing with people around, then I took my guitar to a starbucks and just sat in the corner during an off peak time (I asked the manager if it was cool.) I've been doing that for a couple months and am to the point where I'm totally comfortable. I'm still not a good player, but one day I'll think I'll be glad that I started playing in front of people when I did.

ReplyQuote
(@paul-donnelly)
Noble Member

I think this depends on the person even more than most questions that get that answer. I bet some people learn three chords and are ready to go show off! Most of us take longer to get comfortable. You may have to push yourself if you're not naturally the type to put yourself out there.

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

Wel.. all personal.If you can believe that there is no public even when it is around you , i mean you get that fear of people looking at you or hearing you, then you can perform naturally

Btw , tomorrow i am going in a college function to perform solo on guitar and sing too ...and i have been playing since 8 months :wink:

Rahul

ReplyQuote
(@nolongerme)
Honorable Member

i've been playing for about a year, but i'm not ready yet! :):)

ReplyQuote
(@alexduller)
Trusted Member