Skip to content
Guitar instruction ...

Notifications
Clear all

Guitar instruction vs. Golf instruction...

11 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@john-kline)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hey, I'm pretty much self-taught in both, and I don't have time to commit to weekly guitar lessons. It would be nice if I was working on something or needed help on an area I could just set up an appointment and tell the instructor my needs. I just was thinking of golf because although I've become a single digit handicap by being self-taught I still on occasion meet with a pga pro if I'm working on something specific or need some advice on an area...

John

cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

John,

Now I'm really jealous...single digit handicap and a guitar player. I just started playing again and I'd die for a single digit handicap although I don't ever "practice" my golf swing I just go and play.

It really gets me down when I'm on the golf course and I'm not playing well and then I start thinking about how bad of a guitar player I am along with being a bad golfer and pretty soon I start feeling pretty useless.

Most guitar teachers don't operate that way but it would be a good idea. There are alot of times I feel my lessons didn't do much other than cost me $35. I would much rather just be able to call him up and schedule an appointment to go over some of the things I need help with.

Now if you have any tips on golf I'm all ears

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@maxrumble)
Honorable Member

Hey Cnev give this a try the next time you play.

Spend about 45 min practicing short chips (10 yards and less) and medium and short puts. Pay particular attention to the length of your back stroke.

That is usually where all of every high handicaper's strokes are, though everyone likes to practice driving.

I bet you save 6-10 strokes off your average game. Asuming you have a high handicap.

Cheers,

Max

ReplyQuote
(@john-kline)