Clear all

Guitar strap....stupid question

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@j-rock)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for a couple years now, 95% of the time at home in front of the computer. I took my guitar out into the world for the first time this summer and thought that it might be handy to get a strap. I have a Yamaha F-310 and I can see where the strap attaches on the bottom but I can't see anything on the neck. I've never really thought to look at another guitar to see how it's attached. Thank you.

I can look back with a smile, knowing that my ambition far exceeded my talent.

(@biker_jim_uk)
Honorable Member

acoustic guitar straps often have a shoelace at one end which ties around the headstock just behind the nut

ReplyQuote
(@j-rock)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Wow....that was fast. Thank you.

I can look back with a smile, knowing that my ambition far exceeded my talent.

ReplyQuote
 Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

You could install the second strap button yourself.

1) Place a piece of masking tape over the spot you are about to drill. (so it doesn't chip the finish)

2) Drill a hole a little smaller than the screw. (another tip: measure how far the screw will be going in and wrap a piece of tape around the drill bit so you don't go too far in)

3) Take the tape off the guitar and install the button.

I placed mine at the base of the neck. Like this -

ReplyQuote
(@margaret)
Noble Member

I had a strap with the laces at the end originally, but prefer the straps that attach to a strap button.
You could install the second strap button yourself.
If you do this, you have a lot stronger constitution than I! :shock: Drilling into my guitar would scare the stuffing out of me.

I took two guitars to the music shop and they were able to install the strap buttons while I shopped. I don't recall the exact cost, but I know it was under $20 per guitar, maybe about $10-15 each.

Margaret

P.S. That's not a stupid question at all........