Skip to content
Guitar Tabs: Guitar...

Notifications
Clear all

Guitar Tabs: Guitarists Delight or Devils Torture Device?

11 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@merlync70)
Topic starter  

Lets see.... what is the best way to start this?

Ok, Ive been playing for 2 years. I see myself as an advanced beginner. I can do good chords and changes, I practice my scales, I can read tab, I can even read music and understand how chords are built. Can I do any songs? NO!!! *@#$~!! (ok, well some ... but I want to play songs that I want to play). So lets see... lets go to http://www.tabalatorium.com or other such sight and get quote-unquote TAB.

This is usually a page of lyrics with chord names, many of which I have never seen. So I get out my chord encyclopedia and gasp in shock and horror at the physical stress that my fingers are about to go through (previously thought to have only existed in the game "Twister."

Ok, I learn a few chords. But can I hear any resemblance between the chords given and the song? Not usually. What about the strumming pattern (which is atleast half of the song)? Nope. I am left to reconcile the difference between a professional song and the tab song I see. The difference is, the pro song has usually a lead and backup part... and unless the artist is folk music... doesnt do chords.

How do I go from TAB to something that sounds decent?

I would like to know how to take something that I enjoy and learn to play it. For example <a https://www.guitarnoise.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=11034 Dido - Thank You... but in a manner that David Hodge did for us so nicely with "Wish You Were Here" or "Fields of Gold." David gave us more than strumming a chord, and less than playing one part (ie. back up vs. lead) of the real thing. How can I learn to do this?