Clear all

hammer ons and suspensions

15 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@blueeyez6489)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

hey!! i'm new to guitar and this forum and I was trying to start to learn hammer ons and suspensions from http://www.wholenote.com but i'm really confused and don't know what i'm doing or what it's supposed to sound like. can someone please help me or give me some exercises or something...thank you so much!!

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

welcome to the forum.
why are you whispering? you have typed so small it's hard to read.

anyway. hammer ons are realtively easy. suspensions Im not sure what that means.

a simple exercise re: hammerons. form an E major chord down at the nut. with your ring finger simply remove it from its string position then forceibly replace it. use you ring finger as a hammer. no plucking. the string note should ring out.
keep doing that over and over. it will give you the idea.
next try the pull off. same finger instead of lifting it off the string pull it off (away from you). the string should sound.

suspension...does that mean vibrato? thats a technoque where you lengthen the sound of the note by kneading the string into the fretboard with your finger. erase a dot is how I describe it. move the finger up and down while firmly pressing the string. you'll get a beautiful tone and sustain.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

A suspension is a modification to a chord. The basic chord is made up of a triad of notes - the root (I), the 3rd position in the scale (iii) and the 5th position in the scale (V). A suspension is when you "suspend" playing the 3rd and play the 4th position of the scale instead. So, in C, you'd play C - F - G, instead of C - E - G. As I remember, the idea is to then play the suspended note (E) in the next chord, to remove the suspension.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.