Headphone Practice

18 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
 Jay1
(@jay1)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I'm a relative beginner and up until now have mostly practiced with my accoustic. I have a Vintage V99 and really want to start getting more use out of it.

I've upgraded my amp from a Fender Frontman 15R to a Vox AD30VT, which I'm not allowed to play until Christmas :( I have of course tested it though to make sure it all works ok :lol:

I've have got a serious guitar bug now and miss it when I don't have the guitar in my hands. The thing is a lot of the time when I play it will be at night or when the other half is watching the telly. Either way too much noise (which the new amp is good at) is a problem.

I have a set of cheap (£10-£15) sony headphones but the sound through them and my old amp was awful and I just didn't use them, I'd rather practice with the guitar unplugged. So I want to get some half decent headphones for when quiet playing is needed.

Has anyone got any recomendations for a decent set, that I will use almost exclusively for guitar playing. They may go in the ipod occasionaly but the guitar is by far the prority.

My budget is up to about £75.00.

Cheers guys
J

(@misanthrope)
Noble Member

I have the same problem, but I can't offer advice on headphones - I just play my electric unplugged, palm-muted and very gently :)

ChordsAndScales.co.uk - Guitar Chord/Scale Finder/Viewer

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

I've found that inexpensive headphones work just fine. But I like the kind that actually cover your entire ear, not the lighter smaller sort.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

Avoid the Behringer line of headphones, they are very shoddily produced. I've had three and ruled bad luck out by now. Do note that the headphone-out of the Vox ain't too good, espescially with heavy rock sounds. For cleaner sounds it works fine though.

ReplyQuote