Skip to content
HELLO, COMPLETE NEW...

Notifications
Clear all

HELLO, COMPLETE NEWBIE (guitars and forums)

11 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@worn_out_crutches)
Topic starter  

Hi everyone. I am about to purchase my first guitar and i am in need of good advice and encouragement please!

Lets start at the beginning, i want to learn to play acoustic folk/soft rock/indie rock.

Any do's or dont's on buying my first guitar? is it best to buy a bargain second hand guitar or brand new? about £400 to spend. Any specific types to use for the music I want to play?

Thanks in advance

Lee

(@margaret)
Noble Member

Welcome to GN!

I don't know much about specific guitars, but you might check out the "I'm Looking for a New...." forum farther down the Index page for recommendations on specific acoustics.

Margaret

When my mind is free, you know a melody can move me
And when I'm feelin' blue, the guitar's comin' through to soothe me ~

ReplyQuote
(@coloradofenderbender)
Noble Member

I think you can get a very good guitar for what you are willing to spend. If I were you, I would check out the prices and reviews of several models. Check out Musician's Friend website. Click on acoustic guitars and you can get a list of the bestselling models, by price range. That should be a good place to start. Then get to a store and try those models out.

ReplyQuote
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

Then get to a store and try those models out.

And if you dont feel comfortable trying them out at the store.. see if you can find someone at the store.. or take someone with you that can play.

I took my guitar teacher with me and listened while he played them at first. Then when I narrowed it down I tried them.

Jim

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

ReplyQuote
(@misanthrope)
Noble Member

Welcome to the forums!

ChordsAndScales.co.uk - Guitar Chord/Scale Finder/Viewer

ReplyQuote
(@akflyingv)