Clear all

Help needed with fretting

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@shineymcshine)
Topic starter  

Hiya, hope some can help me with some problems I'm having with fretting

A couple days ago I got a Yamaha acoustic and while I have no problem playing open notes, whenever I place my finger on a string on any part of the fret board instead of getting a clear note all I get is a sort of angry twang, even if I just apply the lightest touch with the tip of my finger

Naturally this is kind of annoying and was hoping if any one has any idea how I can rectify this? I am a complete newbie and it is probably something elementary :oops: , so if anyone has a clue then some advice would be most welcome!

Thanking you in advance

XXSarahXX

(@coolnama)
Prominent Member

Dont worry it happens all the time.

Ok first of all, make sure when u put your finger u put it not on top of the fret, but just a bit over it, not too close to the other fret, nor in the middle, close to the fret but not on it.

If this is not it then you should take it to the shop you bought it and demand a set up, new guitars tend to come with some little kinks that have to be dealt with before its playable ( not all but most ) take it to the shop and ask for it to be set up, most shops do this for free.

I wanna be that guy that you wish you were ! ( i wish I were that guy)

You gotta set your sights high to get high!

Everyone is a teacher when you are looking to learn.

( wise stuff man! )

Its Kirby....

ReplyQuote
(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

Hi Sarah, and welcome.

I can agree with the above post from Coolnama, but also want to add my own twist, part serious and part funny, but don't take me too seriously.