Clear all

Total newbie question

12 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@cd-60-blk)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I was wondering how far away the strings should be from the frets, I'm not sure if mine are to high or where their supposed to be. I didn't take up the store on their free set up, there's no buzzing or anything but I thought if they were lower it would be easier on my fingers! I was also wondering what size or kind of strings to buy. Sorry if these are stupid questions or obvious answers but I don't know. Thanks and oh it's an acoustic ( Fender CD-60 )

Where do you get your energies? Well its a vicious circle thing, If I hadn't ever played an instrument then I wouldn't ever need to play one. But now that I've been playing, I need to play. - Eric Clapton 1967 RollingStone interview

(@coolnama)
Prominent Member

They can be however you like em, its not good to have them too close because that could cause buzzing not too high that would cause the sound to go out of tune even if the strings are in tune, now see if you can post picks so we can evaluate :P or measure with a ruler, better yet, take it to the shop and have them set it up.

But if you are not noticing any problems, and you are a new to the guitar, well maybe its just that your fingers hurt, and you are building callouses... itll pass in a while :D

and btw welcome, keep on rocking!

I wanna be that guy that you wish you were ! ( i wish I were that guy)

You gotta set your sights high to get high!

Everyone is a teacher when you are looking to learn.

( wise stuff man! )

Its Kirby....

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Strings should be far enough away from the frets so they don't buzz when you're strumming - but low enough so's holding them down doesn't take the strength of an olympic weightlifter.