help please

7 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
 XXXX
(@xxxx)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

just bought my first guitar and have been reading absolute beginners re:home page .

and I am totally lost ???????????

I thought I could just pick it up and strum away , but can anyone tell me how to get going with this ?

Basic chords ? I bought a finger chart that shows me where to put my fingers but which ones do I practice ?

how often should I practice ?

should I pay for lessons help me please

Yeah Baby Yeah

(@lotto-king)
Prominent Member

If you know absolutely no knowledge and it sounds like you don't have any knowledge ( correct me if I'm wrong ) then a teacher would be my advise .

Finger charts are good if your position of your instument is correct that aside then probably , A / G / D / C / maybe god place to start

make sure you have a nice clean sound on all strings being strummed muffled noise means your fingers are touching a string they should not be or your finger holding down string is not right ( position on the fret )

but honestly go get a couple of lessons strumming technique is very important and placement of fingers on strings and position of your instrument

cheers

Aghhhh

Not only am I a senior citizen

I'm now a bloody senior member

Are you people trying to tell me I'm old or what ?

over 700 posts ( I really do need to get out more )

ReplyQuote
(@dagwood)
Noble Member

Hey X,
Welcome!!

Advise from another newbie. I've been playing for about 4 months now and this is what I did.

I've allowed this notion of learning Guitar to become a total OCD (Obbsesive Compultive..) thing for me. Its a release for me in many ways. Living in Oregon in the winter I need something to do inside that doesn't require me to be on this damn 'puter all the time or cook up all kinds of food only to put lbs on my waist . :lol:

Anyhoo heres a list of a few things I've done thus far:

1. Find an instructor and get some lessons as soon as possible!